Understanding the Various Indramat Controls

4 September, 2023


Indramat control is the most essential part of a motion control system. Like any other Indramat product, the control is known for its ruggedness and excellent performance. Once installed and used properly, it can operate for up to three decades without any problem before it needs a repair or replacement.

There are several types of Indramat controls. Each control is designed for a specific purpose. Hence, it is necessary to have a clear understanding of the control that is deployed in the motion control system. Knowing which control is in use can be quite helpful during troubleshooting if it malfunctions for some reason.

Different Categories of Indramat Controls

Indramat controls can be broadly classified into three categories. These categories are listed below.

  • CLC Control – This control is a SERCOS-based fiber optic control. It can be associated with various firmware and program types. The control supports three form factors, of which the Syntax and Visual Motion form factors are the most common. They are used for the printing press and general motion control applications respectively.
  • CLM Control – This control is a microprocessor-based positioning control and has a modular structure. It helps to control an AC servo system and is used for material positioning applications like controlling the feeding of materials. The control is available in three variants.
  • PPC Control – This control is a freestanding SERCOS-based control and can communicate with a wide range of output devices and control drives. It can be associated with either a Visual Motion or a Syntax form factor based on the drive. The control is suitable for complex control tasks and simple or basic robotics.


What are the various types of CLC and CMC controls?

The three different types of CLC controls are CLC-D, CLC-P and CLC-V. They are used in DIAX series drives, CCD-style card cages, ISA bus computers, and VME bus racks.

The three types of CLM controls are CLM 1.2, CLM 1.3 and CLM 1.4. The firmware or program module of the CLM 1.2 control cannot be detached, while it can be removed in the CLM 1.3 control. The CLM 1.3 control uses a battery for its operation. The CLM 1.4 control is more advanced than the CLM 1.2 and CLM 1.3 and can be differentiated from them by its grey color.

How can the CLC and CMC controls be identified?

The CLC controls have a circuit board-like design. The CLC-D control can be differentiated from the other two CLC controls by its battery. CLM controls can be identified by their large keypads and have the CLM stamping in front.

At Wake Industrial, we store a large inventory of Indramat controls. You can always turn to us for control to meet any of your needs. We also have a dedicated team who can help repair your control in minimum time if it fails so that your motion control system is not affected. All our Indramat controls have a one-year warranty tag.

Request a Quote
Motion Industries logo
3M logo
IBM logo
Gexpro Logo
Caterpillar logo
NASA logo
Ford logo
Vallen logo